FALLS CITY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT Board Minutes

Board Meeting May 17, 2023 Multi Center #1106 6:30 p.m.

Opening

1. The President called the meeting to order at 6:31 p.m. Let the record show that a quorum of board members was present: Present were, Jerry Jendrusch, Marlin Moczygemba, Barbara Braune, BJ Sekula, Robert Hons, Greg Crawford, and Stephen Moczygemba.

Also, present Todd Pawelek, Beth DeLeon, Jessica Luna, Kalyn Moczygemba, Steve Stone, Beaver and Beaverette Track Teams and Families, Pawelek Family, Jurgajtis Family.

- 2. Barbara Braune led an opening prayer.
- 3. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Recognitions and Introductions

High School Student of the Six Weeks – Peyton Jurgajtis

Elementary Student of the Six Weeks – Kaylee Pawelek

Beaver UIL Academics – 2023 State Qualifier Sami Saenz

Beaverette Track – 2023 State Qualifiers: Cayla Albers, Keandra Johnson, Claire Laskowski, Chloe Cavalier, Tindel Dziuk

Beaver Track – 2023 State Qualifiers: Jacob Swierc, Braylon Johnson, Kash Brown, Christain Moy Falls City ISD Trustee – Don Moy 3 years

Public Comments no public comments were made.

Consent Agenda

Motion made by Marlin Moczygemba to approve consent agenda items. The motion was seconded by BJ Sekula. The motion passed unanimously.

Action Items

1. Motion made by BJ Sekula to approve the order canvassing the Board of Trustees election held on May 6, 2023. The returns were as follows.

	<u>Absentee</u>	<u>Early</u>	Election Day	<u>Total</u>
Josh Wadsworth	0	37	61	98
Greg Crawford	0	85	116	201
Barbara Camber Braune	0	79	105	184
Donny Moy	0	33	65	98
Stephen Moczygemba	0	79	139	218
Jerry Jendrusch	0	109	131	240

The Motion was seconded by Marlin Moczygemba. The motion passed unanimously.

FALLS CITY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT Board Minutes

Board Meeting May 17, 2023 Multi Center #1106 6:30 p.m.

- 2. Oaths of office were administered to newly elected Board Members, Stephen Moczygemba, Greg Crawford, Barbara Camber Braune and Jerry Jendrusch by Notary, Kalyn Moczygemba.
- 3. Board reorganization and election of officers: Board President, Barbara Braune turned the floor over to Superintendent, Todd Pawelek to accept nominations for Board President, Vice President and Secretary. Motion made by Marlin Moczygemba to elect Barbara Braune for Board President, Jerry Jendrusch for Board Vice-President and BJ Sekula for Board Secretary. Robert Hons seconded the motion. No other nominations were made. Motion passed unanimously.

Communication Items:

- 1. Superintendent Report:
 - a) Enrollment

Elementary – 249 Junior High – 65 High School – 118 Total – 432 Transfers – 87

- b) 2023-2024 Budget
 - 1. Discuss 2023 Estimated net taxable values from Wilson and Karnes County Appraisal Districts
- c) Convocation lunch May 19 at 12pm
- d) Graduation May 19, 2023 at 8PM
- e) Summer Leadership Institute June 14th-17th in San Antonio
- f) Safety Considerations
- g) Fire Responder Drill
- h) Beaver Stadium Track Respray
- i) Future agenda items
 - 1. Next Meeting Date June 21st
- 2. Trustee Requested Items
 - a) Code Compliance
 - b) Practice Gym Lighting

FALLS CITY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT Board Minutes

Board Meeting May 17, 2023 Multi Center #1106 6:30 p.m.

Closed Session

Closed Session will be held for purposes permitted by the Texas Open Meetings Act, Texas Government Code Section 551, Subchapters D and E a.Gov't Code 551.074

Entered into closed session 8:00 p.m.

- 1. Pursuant to Texas government Code Section 551.074, consider and discuss issues related to the employment and evaluation of Teachers, Nurse, Counselor, and Technology Director.
- 2. Pursuant to Texas Government Code 551.071, attorney consultation regarding legal issues related to establishing School Guardian Program.

Open Session

1. Reconvene Open session for any action relative to discussion during Closed Session at 8:31p.m.

Action resulting from closed session: no action resulting from closed session

Adjourn

	Motion made by Robert Hons to adjourn. passed unanimously.	The motion was seconded Marlin Moczygemba.	The motion
	Time 8:31 p.m.		
S	igned:		
	Board President	Board Secretary	