FALLS CITY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT Board Minutes

Board Meeting Multi Center #1106 May 18, 2022 6:30 p.m.

Opening

1. The President called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. Let the record show that a quorum of board members was present: Present were, Jerry Jendrusch, Marlin Moczygemba, Barbara Braune, BJ Sekula, Wayne Lyssy, Donny Moy, and Robert Hons.

Also, present Todd Pawelek, Jessica Luna, Beth DeLeon, Kalyn Moczygemba, Steve Stone, Albers Family, Wiatrek Family, Johnson Family, Pipes Family, Coach Osuna, Coach Moy, Barlett Cocke Representatives

- 2. Wayne Lyssy led an opening prayer.
- 3. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Recognitions and Introductions

Elementary Student of the Six Weeks – Jack Wiatrek Beaverette Track – 2022 State Qualifiers, Cayla Albers and Reagan Johnson Beaver Golf – 2022 State Qualifier Jaxson Pipes Kenny Whitehead – 5 years of service to FCISD

Public Comments No Public comments were made

Consent Agenda

Motion made by Marlin Moczygemba to approve consent agenda items. The motion was seconded by Donny Moy. The motion passed unanimously.

Action Items

1. Motion made by Barbara Braune to approve the order canvassing the Board of Trustees election held on May 7, 2022. The returns were as follows.

	Absentee	<u>Early</u>	Election Day	<u>Total</u>
Russell Kowalik	21	16	85	122
Robert Hons	15	22	148	185
BJ Sekula	21	14	136	<u>171</u>
				478

The Motion was seconded by Marlin Moczygemba. The motion passed unanimously.

2. Oaths of office were administered to newly elected Board Members, Robert Hons and BJ Sekula by Notary, Kalyn Moczygemba.

FALLS CITY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT Board Minutes

Board Meeting Multi Center #1106 May 18, 2022 6:30 p.m.

- 3. Board reorganization and election of officers: Board President, Wayne Lyssy turned the floor over to Superintendent, Todd Pawelek to accept nominations for Board President. Motion made by Marlin Moczygemba to elect Wayne Lyssy for Board President. Jerry Jendrusch seconded the motion. No other nominations for President. Motion passed unanimously. President Wayne Lyssy then took nominations for Board Vice-President and Board Secretary. Motion made by Marlin Moczygemba to elect Barbara Braune for Board Vice-President. Jerry Jendrusch seconded the motion. No other nominations for Vice-President. Motion passed unanimously. Motion made by Marlin Moczygemba to elect BJ Sekula for Board Secretary. Jerry Jendrusch seconded the motion. No other nominations for Secretary. Motion passed unanimously.
- 4. Motion Made by Marlin Moczygemba to approve proposal from Bartlett Cocke and Givler Engineering INC on front entry and elementary parking lot as presented with the exception of adding details about the placements of drain locations and bollards along with the band hall entrance to the plans. The Motion was seconded by Barbara Braune. The motion passed unanimously.
- 5. Motion made by Jerry Jendrusch to approve the 2022-2027 District of Innovation Plan as presented. The Motion was seconded by Donny Moy. The motion passed unanimously.
- 6. Consider/approve a proposal by Bartlett Cocke to complete various concrete work around the main FCISD campus. No action was taken.

Communication Items:

- 1. Superintendent Report:
 - a) End of Year Luncheon May 20, 12:15PM
 - b) Graduation May 20, 2022 at 8PM
 - c) Summer Leadership Institute June 15th -18th in San Antonio
 - d) 2022-2023 Budget
 - a. Discuss 2022 Estimated net taxable values from Wilson and Karnes County Appraisal Districts total preliminary value \$641,086,973
 - b. Baseball Field/Parking Lot
 - c. 2022-2023 FCISD Employee Salaries
 - e) Future agenda items
 - a. Next Meeting Date June 15th

Closed Session

Closed Session will be held for purposes permitted by the Texas Open Meetings Act, Texas Government Code Section 551, Subchapters D and E a.Gov't Code 551.074

Entered into closed session 8:58 p.m.

FALLS CITY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT Board Minutes

Board Meeting Multi Center #1106 May 18, 2022 6:30 p.m.

1. Pursuant to Texas Government Code Section 551.074, consider and discuss issues related to the employment and evaluation of district employees.

Open Session

1. Reconvene Open session for any action relative to discussion during Closed Session at 9:39 p.m.

Action resulting from closed session: no action resulting from closed session.

<u>Adjourn</u>

Motion made by Donny Moy to adjourn. The motion was seconded Barbara Braune. The motion passed unanimously.

Time 9:39 p.m.

Signed:

Board President

Board Secretary